America Award – III Edition


Rome, Chamber of Deputies, Conference Hall of Palazzo Marini, October 6, 2011.

The Award

The Italy-USA Foundation has promoted the third edition of the America Award; it is a prestigious recognition of great civil and institutional work under the auspices of the President of the Italian Republic, Hon. Giorgio Napolitano. The award is mainly seen as a means to acknowledge and encourage initiatives and work aimed at favouring relationships between Italy and the United States of America. Prominent personalities of any nationality who stand out for their work and results in promoting transatlantic friendship will be considered. The 2011 ceremony was held in Rome at the Chamber of Deputies, on Thursday October 6, with the journalist Michele Cucuzza. A special award was conferred in memory of Mike Bongiorno, anchorman. The Italy-USA Foundation, in the frame of the America Award, also conferred three medals of the President of the Italian Republic to three students of American universities: Christina Bernardi, Ryan Pilipow, Matthew Zundel.


Laura Biagiotti, Fashion designer

Antonio Campo Dall’Orto, Vice-President MTV Networks

Lapo Elkann, President Italia Independent

Renato Lauro, Rector University of Rome Tor Vergata

Edward Luttwak, Economist and essayist

Rinaldo Petrignani, President Boeing Italy

Jessica Polsky, Actress and singer

Carlo Rossella, President Medusa

Questo articolo è disponibile in: itItaliano